At least one of the spouses must have lived in San Bernardino County for
at least three months prior to divorce.
In order to legally file for divorce in San Bernardino County, at least
one of the spouses must have lived in that county (officially) for three
whole months prior to the petition. In addition to this, at least one
of the spouses must have lived in the state of California for at least
six months prior to the divorce petition. These three/six month periods
must come immediately prior to the petition for divorce.
The courthouse in which you file divorce depends on where in San Bernardino
County you or your spouse resides.
There are multiple courthouses in San Bernardino County that handle family
law cases. If you want to find out which one your case will be handled
in, you can visit
“Where Can I File?” – a service of the San Bernardino County Courts or contact the San
Bernardino divorce lawyers at our firm directly. Below is a list of San
Bernardino County courts that handle family law proceedings.
- Joshua Tree District Court – Joshua Tree, CA
- Family Law and Probate Division of the San Bernardino District Court –
San Bernardino, CA
- Victorville District Court – Victorville, CA
Contact our firm to learn which court your San Bernardino divorce case
will be handled in.
Paternity cases in San Bernardino County are handle in the court closest
to where the children reside.
Slightly differing from divorce proceedings, paternity and parentage cases
are handled in the court closest to where the children reside, not necessarily
where the parent or parents reside. Either the mother or the father can
file paternity actions in order to determine who the actual father of
the child/children is.
Divorce fees are different in San Bernardino County courts from fees in
other family law courts.
Court fees and filing fees differ from county to county. The San Bernardino
Courts publicly disclose all family law related fees and expenses. Below
is a list of fees for common petitions.
- Petition for dissolution of marriage - $435
- Motion or order to show cause - $60
- Response to a petition to dissolve marriage - $435
San Bernardino County Courts fee schedule for more details on family court fees.
If you live in San Bernardino County, you don’t necessarily have
to file for divorce here.
If you live in San Bernardino County but your spouse lives in a different
county, you may file for divorce in that other county so long as your
spouse has lived in that other county for at least three months and in
the state of California for at least six months. Where you file for divorce
depends on county of residence, length of residence, and which party is
filing for divorce.
If you have any questions regarding a divorce, the San Bernardino family
lawyers at James D. Madden, Attorney at Law are here for you. Call us
today for an
evaluation of your case!